Blimey,

Those who know me well, know I do not respond to editorials. But, this Sunday, the Roanoke Times accused me, yes me, of being a Royalist!

This comes as I read Ron Chernow’s biography of George Washington. I take great issue with all the indignities heaped upon Washington while a subject of the Crown.

But, over two hundred years have passed and I have decided to let bygones be bygones.

How can you argue with a country that gave us Winston Churchill and the Beatles.

Let’s be honest. Queen Elizabeth is no George III. She even visited the College of William and Mary. And, for many years, people thought my Mother looked somewhat like the queen and her name is Betty. I have to admit I do get choked up a little when they play God save the Queen.

So, if only for a day, I plead guilty to being a Royalist and celebrating all that is good and majestic about the United Kingdom.

So, queue up at the Lyric the morning of the Royal Wedding for a splendid viewing of the ceremony. The only thing I don’t see on the menu is Fish and Chips. Alas, we can’t bloody well have everything.

Until the next entry, Cheerio ol’ Chap.

