Many people have asked me about Blacksburg High School and the status of the building. The Montgomery County School system is in charge of BHS. Any decisions on how to handle classes while the building is being inspected belongs to the school system. Rather than jumping to conclusions or reacting to rumors, it is best to wait for direction and information from the school system.

Now that two days have passed I want to pass along three overriding thoughts that I have. I just shared these with the Roanoke times.

First, the shock at seeing the building as I pulled up on Saturday. I was not prepared for the ruins I found where the high school gym used to be. Both of my sons went to BHS and my wife taught there. Looking at the remains of a structure you have viewed so many times in the past makes an impression.

Second, I am so thankful that no one was hurt. This really hit me while I was there and I continue to think about the fact that everyone is safe.

Third, Montgomery County Schools has handled the situation very well so far. Blacksburg stands ready to help in any way that we can. All we can do now is wait for word from the school system about plans as we go forward.

